top of page
Writer's pictureA. B.

I'm stuck

Dear Youth

I feel stuck


So this one is a little bit personal. For the last few months I've been working through overwhelming feelings of inadequacy. From friendship to career decisions, feelings such as "I'm not good enough" and no matter what I do "nothing changes," have been my closest companions for months.


Within this time many happy things have happened. And as I've stepped out a little but more each day and engaged with my life, life has grown and granted me good memories back.

Despite these magical moments, all I feel after is nostalgia and salty tears from sadness that the moment is over. Maybe some of you may think this is overdramatic but the real question is have you ever felt stuck in a space like you couldn't get out?


Has prayer ever felt like an empty pipeline?

Maybe you've prayed so much you're beginning to doubt how much you want the things you spent ages praying for? Or maybe your prayers have already been answered? But you're too scared to accept the response and subsequently move forward. Maybe you worry disappointment is a ghost who will return to haunt you when you try and step into answered prayers?


No matter the reason for the overwhelming sensation of stagnancy, the bottom line is you feel hopelessly stuck.


In that case, I relate. Unfortunately I don't have a magical remedy to escape this abyss but I do have a little encouragement.



Just know that I am proud of every moment when you choose to be positive and make the effort to smile on the rough days. A little reminder that it's okay to cry when things get a little bit much. It's also okay to ask for help.


Finally a thought, our feelings don't reflect reality. Just because we feel like life isn't improving doesn't mean it is not. So feel your feelings but when good moments come, don't let them be a cloud over the sun. Most important as Nemo put it so eloquently, "just keep swimming" because you're closer than you think. 🐠


Sincerely,

Your Friend

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page